East Bengal thrash arch rivals Mohun Bagan in CFL

Posted on 31/08/14 by East Bengal

After their inaugural Derby win 89 years ago on 28th May,1925,  East Bengal made their 150th Derby clash of Kolkata League when they recorded an emphatic 3-1 win over their arch rivals Mohun Bagan at VYBK today.

With this win East Bengal now have 10 points from 5 matches in the CFL League table. The Red and Gold started their campaign in style. After some quick exchanges Cavin Lobo snapped up a mispass of Satish Singh and ran deep into the rival penalty box where he was brought down by Bagan's defender Fatai Alao in the 13th minute.

The resultant penalty was easily converted by Ranti Martins thereby scoring his first Derby goal.

Mohun Bagan retaliated through CS Sabeeth who tapped in close after East Bengal custodian Abhijit Mondal failed to gather a Satish Singh cross in the 20th minute.

Spurred on by the equaliser Mohun Bagan made a couple of attacking moves but Abhijit and other East Bengal defenders dealt with them effectively. In the 43rd minute Fatai again fouled Ranti outside the box and the resultant free kick was crashed home by Joaquim Abranches to put the Red and Golds 2-1 ahead at the breather.

The second half was completely dominated by the red & golds. Ranti Martins nodded in the third goal of an Abranches cross. Therafter, Ranti, Bertos and substitute Malsawmtluanga wasted sitters.

East Bengal romped home deservingly 3-1. Fatai, Dhanachandra Singh (Mohun Bagan) and Raju Gaikwad (East Bengal) were booked in the match.

Joaquim Abranches was adjudged Man of the Match.

After the match East Bengal Club President Dr Pronab Das Gupta and other senior members declared an incentive of Rs 2.50 lakhs for the team for their triumph.

East Bengal - Abhijit Mondal, Deepak Mondal,Arnab Mondal, Raju Gaikwad, Robert Lalthalmuana, Joaquim Abranches, Cavin Lobo (S.Malsawmtluanga- 83'), Mehtab Hossain, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Ranti Martins, Leo Bertos (Dudu Omagbemi-61')


Official Sponsor
web links

  • fifa
  • afc
  • aiff
  • ifa