East Bengal crowned CFL Champions

Posted on 16/09/14 by East Bengal

East Bengal became Champions of the Calcutta Football League - Premier Givison for the record 36 times when they defeated Tollygunge Agragami 2-1 in their final match at VYBK today.

With this triumph East Bengal topped the League table with 25 points from 10 matches and became the only Kolkata team to win the League five times in a row twice. Earlier the Club had won the League from 1970 to 1975 (Six times) consecutively.

East Bengal also share the record winning the League more than 30 times and join the select band of the following illustrious teams:

East Bengal - Calcutta Football League- 36 times
FC Ajax - - Dutch League- 33 times
Real Madrid - La Liga (Spain) - 32 times
Juventus - Serie A (Italian League) - 30 times

Of all the 36 triumphs this was East Bengal's sweetest as the job was done by a bunch of talented youngsters ie Avinash Ruidas ,Prohlad Roy, Kisan Bagh, Safar Sardar and Abhishek Das whose role were strategised and conceptualised by Head Coach Armando Colaco . Full credit should be given to Colaco for this standout performance.



As for the match East Bengal dominated the early exchanges and shot into the lead in the 26th minute when Prohlad Roy stabbed in an Avinash Ruidas cross. Tollygunge restored parity in the 33rd minute when Bello Rasaq nodded in a flag kick by Mohan Sarkar. But within three minutes Ranti Martins scored the winner taking advantage of a mix up in Tollygunge's defence.

East Bengal led 2-1 at the half time.

In the second session Tollygunge made a number of attacks but were mostly foiled by Abhra Mondal under the East Bengal bar.

Sukhwinder Singh who was later adjudged the man of the match had an outstanding game. 

EAST BENGAL: Abhra Mondal, Abhishek Das, Gurwinder Singh, Safar Sardar, R.Dhanarajan, Prohlad Roy (Kisan Bagh-73'), Subodh Kumar, Sukhwinder Singh, Avinash Ruidas (Saumik Dey-87'), Ranti Martins, Dudu Omagbemi


Official Sponsor
web links

  • fifa
  • afc
  • aiff
  • ifa