East Bengal rout Lajong 5-1

Posted on 09/12/17 by East Bengal

Laldanmawia Ralte


East Bengal bounced back in their third match of Hero I League as they routed Shillong Lajong FC by 5-1 margin.


Mahmoud Al Amna opened the floodgates in the 14th minute followed by Eduardo who doubled the scoreline with clinical header in the 19th minute. Laldanmawia scored twice in succession in the 52nd minute and 64th minute to make it 4-0 for the red & golds. Katsumi made it 5-0 in the 79th minute when he converted a spot kick. Samuel Lalmuanpuia reduced the margin in the 87th minute from a direct free-kick.


The deadlock was broken in the first quarter of an hour itself. Mahmoud Al Amna glided into the box from debutant Prakash Sarkar’s long ball and left Laurence Doe for dead before he lashed out a shot from an angle, only to take a minor deflection off Rakesh Pradhan and lodge into the net, despite Phurba Tempa Lachenpa’s best efforts to dive the right way.


Six minutes after that, the Red and Golds doubled their lead as Katsumi Yusa sent in an inswinging corner which Eduardo Ferreira headed correctly to bring up his second goal of the season as Novin Gurung failed to mark the former Mohun Bagan man in the near post.


Laldanmawia Ralte came good in the second period to record a brace for himself. First, he was released by Al Amna on the right flank and slammed the ball past a hapless Lachenpa as Rakesh Pradhan was nowhere to be seen. Laurence Doe then failed to find his captain and his mispass ended up with the former Aizawl FC man.


With an almost-absent defensive line, Ralte scored the second of his night and the hosts were 4-0 up with the crowd sent into a tizzy.


Ralte then helped win his side a penalty as Redeem Tlang had made matters worse for his side. Katsumi Yusa stepped up and delivered from the spot as the Japanese playmaker made no mistake from the twelve-yard spot.


Lajong, however, ensured that East Bengal did not end the match with a clean sheet. Samuel Lalmuanpuia’s well-taken free-kick from range nestled right into the net, leaving Mirshad and the crowd stunned in silence, to get a consolation goal.


Daniel Odafin of Lajong & Prakash Sarkar of East Bengal got yellow cards.


Laldanmawia Ralte was adjudged Hero of the Match.


EAST BENGAL: Mirshad K, Prakash Sarkar, Arnab Mondal, Eduardo Ferreira, Salam Ranjan Singh, Cavin Lobo (Md. Rafique-71’), Bazie Armand, Mahmoud Al Amna, Katsumi Yusa, Laldanmawia Ralte (Surabuddin Mallick-84’), Willis Deon Plaza (Charles de Souza-76’)


Official Sponsor
web links

  • fifa
  • afc
  • aiff
  • ifa