East Bengal edge past Patha Chakra

Posted on 07/09/17 by East Bengal


East Bengal recorded their 6th consecutive win in the Calcutta Football League Premier Division ‘A’ when they defeated Patha Chakra by odd goal in three at their home ground today.


With this win East Bengal again climbed to the pole position of the League with 18 points from six matches.


In a match dominated by the hosts it was Man of the Match Jagannath Oraon who scored first in the 41st minute to take the lead for Patha Chakra when he bulged the net of a perfect cutback by Joel Sunday.


Brandon Vanlalremdika restored parity for the red & golds when he scored from a zero angle on the stroke of the half time after Patha Chakra custodian Shuvam Roy had spilt a cross from Amna.


After missing a number of chances in the second session and after being baulked by Shuvam who brought of a string of saves East Bengal finally got the winner when Amna converted a penalty in the after being fouled in the Patha Chakra box in the 86th minute.


Gurwinder Singh (East Bengal), Manotosh Chakladar (Patha Chakra) were booked in the match.


EAST BENGAL:  Luis Barreto, Samad Ali Mallick, Gurwinder Singh, Mehtab Singh, Tonmoy Ghosh, Brandon Vanlalremdika (Cavin Lobo-80'), Prakash Sarkar (Mohammed Rafique-67'), Mahmoud Al Amna, Laldanmawia Ralte, Surabuddin Mollick, Jobby Justin (Gabriel Fernandes-61')



Official Sponsor
web links

  • fifa
  • afc
  • aiff
  • ifa