East Bengal CFL Champions

Posted on 24/09/17 by East Bengal


East Bengal created another record when they won the Calcutta Football League 8 years in a row after holding arch rivals Mohun Bagan 2-2 in their final match at Kanchenjunga Stadium, Siliguri today.


Overall the red & golds have now won the CFL 39 times.


In a match played under heavy underfoot conditions Mohun Bagan adopted to the conditions quicker and took the lead in the opening minute with a crisp shot by Azharuddin Mallick which was deflected into the net by Carlyle Mitchell.


After a somewhat even exchanges where Azharuddin and Nikhil Poojary missed goal scoring opportunities at either ends East Bengal restored parity in the 43rd minute - Gabriel Fernandez's set piece was well directed by Lalramchullova to Laldanmawia Ralte to slam the ball home.


Mohun Bagan again went ahead in the 47th minute when Ansumana Kromah converted a penalty following a foul on Bayi Stephane Kamo by Mitchell.


Kamo missed a sitter soon. East Bengal restored parity in the 63rd minute when Mahmoud Al Amna scored also of a spot kick awarded after he was brought down by Raniyer Fernandez in the prohibited area.


Both the teams tallied 23 points from nine matches but East Bengal have emerged champions with (+) 21 goal difference as against Bagan's (+) 15.


While Surabuddin Mallick (East Bengal) and Kingshuk Debnath (Mohun Bagan) were given marching orders, Mohammed Rafique (East Bengal) and Shilton D'Silva (Mohun Bagan) were booked.


EAST BENGAL: Luis Barreto, Samad Ali Mallick, Gurwinder Singh, Carlyle Mitchell, Lalramchullova, Nikhil Poojary (Surabuddin Mallick - 79'), Mahmoud Al Amna, Mohammed Rafique, Laldanmawia Ralte (Brandon Vanlalremdika - 91'), Willis Plaza, Gabriel Fernandez (Cavin Lobo-58')



Official Sponsors
web links

  • fifa
  • afc
  • aiff
  • ifa