Legacy >> history of ebfc

1970's to 1990's

East Bengal club defeated Pas Club of Iran in 1970, Piyong Young Club of Korea in 1973 in the I.F.A. Shield final, Dok-Ro-Gang Club of Korea in the final D.C.M. football tournament held at New Delhi in 1973 and Port Authority Club of Thailand in the final of Bordoloi Trophy in Guwahati (Assam) in the year 1978. The club has a very good track record of defeating foreign teams.





Their most outstanding achievement has been their historic victory over PAS Club (Iran) 1-0 in the I.F.A. Shield final 1970. Parimal Dey scored the winning goal at the last minute. It was the first victory of an Indian club over foreign team since the independence. Over 80,000 supporters who had thronged the Eden Gardens that afternoon heralded the club's triumph by lighting torches (the club's symbol). Since then the torches have become symbolic with the triumph of the nation in any field of sport.

Further laurels awaited the club when they established the unique record of winning the Calcutta Football League six years in a row 1970-1975. They also won the League with I.F.A. Shield, Rovers Cup, and Durand Cup in 1972. East Bengal is the only Indian club to win the famous Indian 'Treble' (IFA Shield, Durand Cup & Rovers Cup simultaneously in a season) twice: in 1972 and 1990.



1973 shield

The above photo features legendary Russian goalkeeping great Lev Yashin presenting the Shield to IFA Shield Champions East Bengal Club in 1973. 


The above photo features legendary actor Dilip Kumar meets East Bengal team during Rovers Cup final in Mumbai.



Renowned Indian footballers like Subhas Bhowmick, Sudhir Karmakar, Manoranjan Bhattacharya, Bhaskar Ganguly, Sudip Chatterjee, Krishanu Dey, Bhaichung Bhutia and many others who represented the country in International Football Tournaments played for the club during this period. Well known foreign footballers Majid Baskar, Cheema Okorie, Emeka Ezeugo, John Devine, Julian Camino, Monem Munna, Sammy Omollo also donned the club’s colours during this period.


Indian Football Icon Bhaichung Bhutia who started his career in this club later went on to play professional football in England as the first Indian footballer.


During this period two officials made a significant contribution and left an indelible mark in the club's affairs.


Nripen Das



It was Dr. Nripen Das (1970-78) a renowned surgeon in whose period the club won the laurels and completely dominated the Indian Soccer scene.


Poltu Das 


Finally it was Mr. Dipak (Paltu) Das (1984-2000) who gave a new dimension to the club by bringing in professionalism and the sponsors and finally converted the football section into a private limited company.


The club won the Federation Cup in 1978, 1980, 1985 & 1996. They also became the first Indian club to represent the country in the finals of Asian Cup Championship in Jeddah (Saudi Arabia) in 1985-86 after their triumph in the preliminary round in Colombo. They repeated the feat of winning the Triple Crown (Shield, Durand, Rovers) again in 1990.The club also won the International tournament Wai Wai Cup at Nepal in 1993. The club represented India in Asian Club tournaments several  times.  Club's performance in the Asian Club Competition has also been satisfactory. Noteworthy was their triumph over Al Jawra (Iraq) 6-2, in 1993.


Dipak Das after being at the helm of affairs soon realized the need for large funds for running the club affairs as the sources from private donation and club membership were being restricted. He initially roped in limited sponsorship from local brands/ companies but his major success was going into partnership with Dr. Vijay Mallya's United Breweries Group in 1998, which gave a new facelift to the club. Within the constitution of the club a Private Limited Company was formed covering the affairs of the football team under the name and style of "United East Bengal Football Team Private Limited." Mr. Dipak (Paltu) Das became the Managing Director of the Company till his sad demise in March 2001.


KEB Logo


Through corporatization the football team was named "Kingfisher East Bengal" which achieved many firsts among India's Football Clubs.


Mr. Kapil Dev, Mr. Sachin Tendulkar, Mr. Ajay Jadeja, Mr. Navjot Singh Sidhu, and also Bengal cricket icon Mr. Sourav Ganguly played for the club for a couple of years for the cricket team.


Mr. Inam-ur-Rahaman, Mr. Gurbux Singh, Mr. Joginder Singh, Mr. Shibaji Pawar, Mr. Govinda and Mr. Mohammed Sayeed, the ex-Hockey Stars of our country donned the colour of our club as well for the Hockey team.


East Bengal lose to Benga...

East Bengal lost in the Final

East Bengal pips FC Goa

East Bengal won by 1-0 margin to storm into final

Annual Bar Puja

All are Welcome

East Bengal enter Super C...

East Bengal won by 1-0 margin

East Bengal beat Mumbai C...

East Bengal won by 2-1 margin

East Bengal finish 4th in...

The match ended in an 1-1 draw

East Bengal play draw wit...

The match ended in 2-2 draw

East Bengal rout Chennai ...

East Bengal won by 7-1 margin

East Bengal lost to Gokul...

East Bengal lost by 2-1 margin

East Bengal pips Minerva

East Bengal won by a solitary goal

East Bengal pips Indian A...

The red & golds won by a last minute solitary goal

East Bengal U-15 rout RVS...

East Bengal U-15 won by 12-0 margin

Spirited East Bengal hold...

The match ended in 2-2 draw

East Bengal U-18 enter Na...

East Bengal U-18 won by a solitary goal

East Bengal lose I League...

East Bengal lost by a brace

Official Sponsor
web links

  • fifa
  • afc
  • aiff
  • ifa